Defining a Winning Elevator Pitch

Today I’m one of the judges at the BYU Elevator Pitch competition here in Utah. I’m honored to have been asked for a second time. Three years ago I won 3rd place at that competition and then refined my pitch and won 2nd place nationally at the Wake Forest Competition in North Carolina. Developing a winning pitch is vital for anyone looking for funding–in a competition or for real. So what will I be looking for?

images.jpgToday’s Magic Wand: A winning 2 minute pitch includes:

  • Confidence & Passion
  • A reason to believe!
  • Who are they?–why are they qualified?
  • What–what are they selling? what is the business model?
  • Who are they selling it to? Why should they/we buy it?
  • How will they execute?
  • Significant partnerships/clients/established vendors
  • Do they have a qualified board?
  • Do they have a proven track record?
  • What are they seeking in funding?
  • Do they convince me???? Do I want to invest in them (my time, money, energy?)
    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

