Just Muddle

images.jpgToday’s Magic Wand: Last night I heard an amazing speaker, Janene Baadsgaard author/mother of 10 speak about balancing life. She shared a story of when she felt that she was losing control and felt incapable of “handling life” she told her husband in desperation, “I can’t handle it. I just can’t do it anymore” and he replied, “who says you have to handle it? Is that a rule? I don’t “handle life”, I just muddle.”

Instantly Janene felt relief and when she told herself to just muddle through the moment instead of “handling it”, suddenly it was easier and no one ever notices the difference. I looked up the definition of “muddle” and part of it says, “improvise”, isn’t that what we do anyways? I just improvise how to handle life…so I suppose I’m really good at muddling already. So muddle with style and give yourself a break.

  1. Great advice!
    We moms always feel like we have to stay in control and “handle” every frustrating thing with grace. Sometimes that’s just not the way it goes though because we are human and we are tired and yes, we freek out sometimes. I had a panik attack last night and felt myself begin to cave in from all my pressures, responsibilities, and struggles to deal with some of my children’s challenging stages. That is a sign that I let things get out of hand and forgot to take the necessary breaks and time to rejuvenate. It is also a sign that I have to reprioritize my daily life.

  2. Thanks, Deborah for sharing. I love this mental shift of focus from “handling” to “muddling”, so far so good today. I hope it helps you out too…we all need all the help we can get while juggling kids, start ups, and our own sanity! 😉 I have to constantly remind myself to take a walk, drink some water, read something fun or something else “just for me.” It helps, eh!?

  3. naturalhigh

    Very good advice. Sometimes how we word things can make action seem so daunting. Life is really just one big improv theatre. We’re all just making it up as we go along!




comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

