The Patience Project

For the past month I have been working on what I call “the patience project”. I am committed to becoming more patient in my life–with myself, with the stage that my businesses are at, with my family, and with those around me. In working on this characteristic I have found a few things helpful:

  • Recommitting each day to be patient
  • Studying uplifting scripture daily that demonstrate examples of others who are patient and striving to memorize key phrases that I can recall when I am facing a challenge with patience
  • Surrounding myself with uplifting quotes and inspiration written on post it notes around my house
  • Being aware of those who are patient in my life and trying to be like them
  • Involving my family in my goal to become patient and be accountable to them each week and report my progress
  • Evaluate my behavior throughout the day and rate myself on how I acted or reacted in a certain situation, not being too hard on myself, because I am making an effort
  • Getting more sleep
  • Eating healthy meals
  • Going on walks, enjoying nature, writing in my journal, relaxing

When I am faced with a situation where I notice I am being impatient, instead of saying “I’m really impatient right now”, I try to say, “this is a great opportunity to exercise patience”. Not easy to do, but I am making progress, little by little.

Any other ideas of how to develop this key attribute?

  1. I might suggest some questions meaningful to you and your reoccuring aspects of life that need more patience.

    Like with my kids I tried to ask, “is this about me looking bad?” I asked that question because my impatience with them was sometimes about me looking good rather than helping them grow and learn.

    Questions in general are a great way to slow down any situation in order to speed up the learning.

    Good post – thanks for stirring the pot!

  2. Thanks, Michael. I believe we have children for learning this principle. Just last week I had optimal opportunities to work on patience as we had to let our baby cry a bit to sleep through the night, we’d keep checking on her every few minutes, but it was very challenging! Too bad she hates binkies. But then, that’s about me, isn’t it? She wants to find her own way, I have to be peaceful about it.

  3. I have four children 9 and under and struggle constantly to exert patience when it comes to the challenging and/or annoying parts, like the constant questions, random accidents and messes, neverending needs on all levels, sibling rivalry issues, homework and schedules. I ask myself, “How can one be peaceful in the midst of this caos?” If in those moments I can focus and gather some sanity, I tell myself, “Be the eye of the storm.” But sometimes I become the storm and then it isn’t pretty. Perhaps if I could develop more empathy I could be more patient.

  4. I have four children 9 and under and struggle constantly to exert patience when it comes to the challenging and/or annoying parts, like the constant questions, random accidents and messes, neverending needs on all levels, sibling rivalry issues, homework and schedules. I ask myself, “How can one be peaceful in the midst of this caos?” If in those moments I can focus and gather some sanity, I tell myself, “Be the eye of the storm.” But sometimes I become the storm and then it isn’t pretty. Perhaps if I could develop more empathy I could be more patient.




comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

