Fear Factor in Starting Your Business?

Be honest. I want to see comments on this post. I can’t be the only one afraid of launching my business. I’ve been planning and preparing and pitching and meeting with mentors and blogging…using “no funding” as an excuse. So, what is the REAL reason I haven’t launched yet? Fear. Doubt. Why be afraid? The universe is on my side! Somehow, I forget what I preach.

I never really called it “fear” until today. I had all sorts of names for it, “I’m not ready”, “I need…”, “I want…”, “I just had a baby…”, “Next…”. Just start somewhere, something everyone tells me…”but, I can’t!” You can’t start a brand that isn’t ready, that isn’t stellar. That isn’t Nordstrom…just start, go 80%, get out there. Prove it.
Truth hurts, but it also helps me to grow. After a few “in your face” conversations with mentors, my husband, and a sweet Fairy Godmother of mine, I realized that all of this delay is fear. Fear of what? Failing. Not measuring up to the awards I’ve received. Not fulfilling other people’s expectations of what it should be…or what I want it to be. I want every detail to be perfect. But I can’t wait anymore for that, I need to just get my feet wet.

But the truth is, anyone who starts anything has fears and it’s time I embrace mine and realize that fears in business is a good thing, because it forces you to work harder and do your best, right? Dive in. That’s my new motto. My husband gave me a little bit of cash today, I’m using it to “just start.” One step in front of the other…

How did you dive in? How did you overcome your fears?

  1. Even though I have been doing this for 2 years, I still have fears off and on–it never goes away. I have a saying in my room that says:

    Courage does not always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.”
    Mary Anne Radmacher

    So, keep going through the fear. Don’t give your fear power over you, but realize that courage is the ability to keep going even when the fear is there.

  2. Thanks, Nancy for being so brave to admit that being an entrepreneur is a scary thing, constant faith, huh? You are such an excellent example of moving forward, always focused no matter what challenges come up. Congrats on winning best home business in Utah County!!

  3. Kristen Lamb

    You are right! Fear and Doubt are major stumbling blocks in all of our lives. The funnest part about overcoming fear and doubt is the excitement that comes when we overcome it. I have found that when the way hedges up the strongest, and the emotions fight me the most, there must be something amazing waiting for me on the other side.

  4. Thanks for the inspiration, Fairy Godmother Kristen! You are so wise.




comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

