Video Interview Tips

Today I was interviewed on camera about my 2005 BYU Business Plan competition success for the 2007 kick-off tomorrow night. I was honored and enjoyed the experience, however, I have to say that I’m not the best at being interviewed on camera.

Give me a script and tell me to memorize it for national television, or get me on a stage with a mic in front of thousands of people like at Rice University for the national competition (I was a finalist) and I’ll be fine, heart-pounding, but I’ll do fine. But, for some reason I don’t think well on my feet and articulate well in front of a camera. Perhaps I did better than I think…

But, here are some tips that I’ve figured out:

  • Ask for the list of questions BEFORE you get there so you can think about them and if you need, practice some answers
  • Don’t go on to the next question until you are happy about how you answered the previous one
  • Ask for a clip on mic BEFORE you get there, and make sure you aren’t going to be in the shade or in bad lighting (learn a bit about this)
  • Find something fabulous to wear that you love that is professional and not too trendy or distracting. I’d usually go for the suit look unless you’re Shawn Nelson of LoveSac.
  • And I don’t care if you don’t “usually wear makeup”, wear it, wear more than usual even…and guys should at least wear some powder so their face isn’t shiny.
  • Bring a prop, your products, or something if it relates…visuals are great. In my case I brought a MAGIC WAND. 🙂 I said at the end of the interview, I waved my wand and said, “I wish you all have a great time, meet lots of wonderful people and know that you too, can make your dreams come true.” It’s my signature, you know? Branding!?
    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

