One of My Biggest Challenges: Sitting Down to Eat

Sounds funny, huh? But, it’s true. that is why I love my Magic Potion Spinach Smoothies (please don’t eat bagged spinach right now, but the recipe for that is 2 c spinach, 1 frozen banana, 6 frozen strawberries, 1 c rice milk–blenderize until smooth). It seems like I’m always cooking and feeding everyone in my family except myself or I’m busy running to and fro and not making sure I am properly fed. So, I have to work really hard at actually sitting down and enjoying my meals, giving gratitude to God that I have a healthy meal to eat, and slowly chewing my food so I digest my meal fully.

My good friend, Start Up Princess, Julie Hundley from Pittsburgh is an amazing chef and an Integrative Nutritional Counselor and she has taught me so many things about eating well and encourages her clients to chew slowly (as long as possible–up to 100 chews!) Interestingly enough the longer you chew your food, the better it tastes and the more satisified you will be.

The other thing that helps me is to keep lots of fresh veggies around so I can make my favorite veggie sandwiches, stirfrys, soups, etc. I find that the more fresh veggies I have around the more I will eat! Simple concept, I know, but if you don’t have them on the counter or in the fridge they can’t beckon you. And they do beckon!! The more you eat, the more you will crave them and then you’ll have even more energy for all you do.

Third, if you are really on the run and you just can’t slow down, then have some pre- sliced cucumber, carrots, celery, or other veggies precut in the fridge in a plastic bag that you can grab and throw in your bag and eat on the run. This has helped me out a lot.

Today’s Magic Wand: Stock your fridge with the veggies you love and when you eat them, give thanks, chew slowly, and enjoy every bite.

This is what I had for lunch today:

Veggie Avocado Sandwich

Whole Wheat Bread (2 slices) toasted

1 small avocado, mashed and spread on both slices of bread

2-3 slices of cucumber (sliced length-wise)

lettuce

tomato slices

alfalfa sprouts

Put 2 toothpicks through, 1 one each corner and slice diagonally

* I would LOVE to hear your tips for good health and recipes for healthy meals…if you comment below, I will try them out and feature them on the site in another post! 🙂

    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

