Teenagers to the Rescue!

Tonight while I was reading one of my favorite books to my son, “Oh The Places You’ll Go” by Dr. Seuss, there was a knock on the door that lifted my spirits and put a smile on my face. It was three sweet young middle schoolers asking if they could serve me tonight as part of their church youth activity “service scavenger hunt”. I was blown away at the request. They asked if they could come in and do one of the chores on their list, “sweep, take out the trash, fold laundry, read a book to a child, etc.” At first I didn’t really want them to see the disaster of the toys on the floor and the contents of my diaper bag dumped out on the ground by my toddler. But, I was so happy someone wanted to help me out, I consented! I chose the laundry folding and they happily folded a large pile of baby clothes for me and then went on their way like little service fairies to the next house. I was reminded of the power of service and how much it truly lifts the soul. I was so grateful that their leader thought of the idea because I know that they made a difference in a lot of households tonight.

Today’s Magic Wand: Teach your children to serve those around them…it will be a blessing to all, including you!

  1. How wonderful! Can they come to Pittsburgh?

  2. Sure! I can tell them 🙂




comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

