REJUVENATION at LAST: A Visit to Main Spring Day Spa

If you haven’t noticed from my week’s posts I’ve been a bit burned out, tired, stressed, overwhelmed, blah, blah, blah. I needed to do something for myself, BY MYSELF. It seems I am always connected to my sweet baby, a blessing for sure, but I needed to rejuvenate and do some self-nurturing. So, I cashed in my Anniversary present tonight and had an “European Getaway” at Main Spring Day Spa in Orem. It was HEAVEN! The first hour was private sauna/jacuzzi and then the second hour was a VERY wonderful massage by Brooke Andrus. I had never done that 1-2 punch before. I’ve been in lots of jacuzzis and I’ve had lots of massages, but that combo, was amazing. I highly recommend it. (Only $50 too. I thought it was great because a lot of people charge $50 just for an hour massage.)

During the private jacuzzi (you wear your swim suit) part, I just tried to relax, be in the moment, de-stress, and meditate. It was hard at first to tune out all of the mental chatter from home, family, and work, but after a few minutes I was able to just tune in to the beautiful relaxing moment and just “be.” I prayed, I gave thanks, I asked that my muscles would loosen up and be at rest. I loved the jets hitting my back and shoulders. I could have slept all night in there.

Then I went into the massage room and while I was waiting for Brooke to return, I almost fell asleep because I was so relaxed, but there was this annoying “ticking” of the clock that distracted me and I wondered if it would be rude to say something, but then I decided that I was the customer, so I should. I asked Brooke if there was any way that she could remove the clock off the wall because it was reminding me that I was under a deadline (only one hour), not exactly what I wanted to remember during my blissful massage. After she graciously removed the clock, I wondered how many other customers had been there and not noticed, had the owner had a massage in there? Did it bother anyone else or just me? I tried not to think of business and went back into the zone for about 30 minutes until I realized that Brooke was really good. I had been resistant to going to a new person because my former massage therapist since I was 18 recently moved to New Mexico. She was so great she even came to my house after I had my baby. So, when I realized that Brooke was really good I complimented her style and lyrical, dance-like strokes and movement. It was as if she was a dancer. I told her how impressed I was and that I was disappointed that my previous therapist had moved, but I could be very happy with her as a replacement. She then told me that her teacher was my former therapist! Amazing. I thanked God for the gift of a new therapist and friend. We talked a bit about how she should market herself to get more clients and I gave her some ideas. Then I went back into the zone…aaah.

Tonight’s Magic Wand: Book a Massage. (I don’t care if you don’t have grocery money, you will find something to eat, promise.) If you go to Main Spring Day Spa, ask for Brooke.

    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

