Cut It Out: Moving on after Mistakes

Our sweet baby girl was blessed yesterday in church. We had planned the event for months and many family members made special travel arrangements to be with us. I had taken great care to make sure each detail was taken care of, invitations, flowers, gourmet food, and everyone had a nice outfit to wear for the celebration and photos. Photos that I wanted to keep forever, to always remember this moment. So, you can imagine my frustration when my son decided 30 minutes before the event to cut his hair.

I couldn’t believe it, yet I couldn’t do anything about it at that point, but try and remedy the situation. It was pretty bad, but I thought my mother-in-law could fix it up and fortunately she could. I was so relieved she had the skills to make his mistake look better with a bit of effort and lots of gel. Today we will get it all buzzed off.

What was interesting was that my son was absolutely horrified that his efforts backfired on him, he cried about what he had done because it was “ugly” and didn’t want it to look like that. I realized that if I also punished him that it would not help matters…he was learning from his own mistake and I doubt he will try this stunt again. Even though it was difficult, I had to love him through the moment because it was more painful for him than for me and just make peace with it. I will always remember that we didn’t destroy the day and damage relationships by making him “pay for his mistake.” Love heals all wounds.

Today’s Magic Wand:

Let us all learn from our own mistakes and the mistakes of others and move forward with love!

    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

