Avoid the 3 C’s: Competing, Comparing, and Categorizing

Oops. I did it again. Yesterday I found myself in a sudden mindset of the 3 C’s and had to refocus and stop myself. The 3 C’s are easy to do, very challenging to overcome…at least for me. But, the first step is to be aware that you are even competing with another person, comparing one another, or judging and categorizing others. I think women in business are particularly competitive. Why don’t we cheer one another on? We must celebrate our differences. We all have unique opportunities to give, let’s help one another succeed.

Sherri Dew talks about these three deadly obstacles as a downfall of humanity in her book “If Life were Easy it wouldn’t be Hard: and Other Reassuring Truths.” Dew says that the “antidote to these baggage-breeding behaviors is charity.” Be kind. Be gentle. Give others the benefit of the doubt.

This week I had a bit of a “train wreck” as they say with someone in business, I wrote an email that I shouldn’t have. I should have taken more care in how I expressed myself and thought more carefully about what I was doing. His reply was very professional, and thoughtful, even though I should not have deserved a reply. I learned a great deal from his charity and gentle treatment of my concerns. I apologized for my actions and hope I can remedy the relationship further.

Today’s Magic Wand:

Be aware of the 3 C’s; Love One Another.

    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

