Stepping onto the Start Up Wagon…

Tomorrow is Utah’s beloved Pioneer Day–parades, fireworks, family parties, all to celebrate the men and women who sacrificed so much to come to Utah as pioneers.

Pioneers are “anyone who prepares the way for others to follow.” Sounds like an entrepreneur to me. This site was almost named “Start Up Pioneer” because I liked that definition so much.

I am reading about women pioneers today and wanted to share the following journal entry by Bathsheba Smith about leaving Nauvoo, Illinois to come to Utah:

“We left a comfortable home, the accumulation of four years of labor and thrift and took away with us only a few much needed articles such as clothing, bedding, and provisions. We left everything else behind us for our enemies. My last act in that precious spot was to tidy the rooms, sweep up the floor, and set the broom in its accustomed place behind the door. Then with emotions in my heart which I could not now pen and which I then strove with success to conceal, I gently closed the door and faced an unknown future, faced a new life, a greater destiny as I well knew, but I faced it with faith in God…I was going into the wilderness, but I was going with the man I loved dearer than my life. I had my little children. I had heard a voice, so I stepped into the wagon with a certain degree of serenity.” (Carol Cornwall Madsen, In Their Own Words: Women and the story of Nauvoo, 213).

She replaced her fears with faith. I hope we can all be so brave.

    comments are closed on this blog, go to StartupPrincess.com

